Universal Declaration of Human Rights Signatories

The UDHR is the declaration that is adopted by United Nations General Assembly on December 10, 1948 at Palais de Chaillot, Paris. This declaration arises directly from all the experience of Second World War, representing the first worldwide expression of right to while all people are entitled. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights is consists of 30 articles that have been stated and elaborated in successive international treaties, national constitutions, human right instruments, as well as other laws.

The International Bill of Human Rights

The ‘International Bill of Human Rights’ is consists of Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Social and Cultural Rights, International Bill of Human Rights, and International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and two other optional protocols. In the year 1966, General Assembly implemented the 2 detailed Covenants that complete International Bill of Human Rights. And in 1976, after those Covenants have been ratified by enough numbers of nations, the Bill then took on a force to International Law.

The Collaboration of Nations

On December 10, 1948, forty eight countries came together at the United Nations held in Paris; they are the Universal Declaration of Human Rights signatories. These nations include: Chile, Afghanistan, Brazil, Bolivia, Burma, Belgium, Australia, Argentina, Egypt, Ecuador, Dominican Republic, Denmark, Cuba, Costa Rica, Colombia, China, Iraq, India, Iceland, Haiti, Guatemala, Greece, France, Ethiopia, El Salvador, New Zealand, The Netherlands, Mexico, Luxembourg, Liberia, Lebanon, Iran, Sweden, Siam, Philippines, Peru, Paraguay, Panama, Pakistan, Nicaragua, Norway, Uruguay, United States Of America, United Kingdom, Turkey, Syria, and Venezuela.

There are eight members of the States that abstained, which include Belorussia, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Ukraine, the USSR, as well as Yugoslavia. Canada is also among the countries that signed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; it was omitted on the list.

Meaning of Adoption

The adoption of Universal Declaration is an essential international commemoration that is marked every year on December 10, and is popularly known as the Human Rights Day or the International Human Rights Day. This commemoration is being observed and adopted by the people, religious groups, and community, human rights organizations, governments, parliaments, and of course, United Nations. Decadal commemorations were usually accompanies by various campaigns in order to promote much awareness of human rights and declaration.

The Universal Declaration of human rights has a legal effect. Though it’s not considered a treaty, the Declaration actually was adopted and implemented for the sole purpose of redefining the real meaning of human rights and fundamental freedom. Because of this, Universal Declaration’s a primary constitutive document in the UN.

Exempt Groups and Individuals

In addition to that, many lawyers believe that Declaration is also an aspect of the customary law and is an extremely powerful tool of applying moral and diplomatic pressure to the governments that will violate any articles. But there is also criticism that has been associated with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights because it didn’t apply to homosexuals, women, as well as the members of some social, economic, political, and religious groups. This is all about the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and its signatories. It is quite essential that people will have more awareness about its history.

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *